Name and gender of the users have to be available for public view
Google has decided to delete all private profiles from its Google+. So, your private profile shared on Google+ from a social media such as Facebook will cease to exist after 31st July 2011. According to the help section of Google social services:
“The purpose of Google Profiles is to enable you to manage your online identity. Today, nearly all Google Profiles are public. We believe that using Google Profiles to help people find and connect with you online is how the product is best used. Private profiles don’t allow this, so we have decided to require all profiles to be public.”
As far as the public display of the profile is concerned, only name and gender are visible for public. The other information, which someone does not want to share can be edited or removed any time. If you still have a private profile on Google+, it will no more be there after 31st July 2011.
In the meantime Google has made it mandatory that on Google+ your full name and the gender would be there for public display. It is contrary to Facebook where it is possible to completely hide your profile from public view. However a large part of your profile can still remain invisible.